Materials Characterisation & Fabrication Platform

 

MCFP Logo

Important information:

17th February 2021 Update: The MCFP lab spaces will open on Thursday, 18th of February. Itis mandatory to wear a fitted face mask.

If you have any questions regarding access, inductions and training requirements, please contact Elena Taran elena.taran@unimelb.edu.au (Platform Manager).

Welcome to the Materials Characterisation & Fabrication Platform

The Materials Characterisation and Fabrication Platform (MCFP) supports materials science and engineering research through advanced instrumentation, analysis and characterisation.

The platform facilitates access to a range of complementary technologies, focusing on:

  • Atomic Force Microscopy
  • Super-Resolution Microscopy
  • Mass Cytometry
  • Particle Characterisation
  • Nanofabrication
  • X-Ray Diffraction
  • Helium Ion Microscopy
The MCFP welcomes all users across the scientific community, from universities and research institutes to industry.

Proud to be a part of ANFF Victoria The MCFP is proud to be a part of the Victorian Node of the Australian National Fabrication Facility (ANFF-Vic).

Management

Dr Elena Taran  Platform Manager

 

elena.taran@unimelb.edu.au

Bldg 165, 3.17

Core Staff

Paul Brannon Advanced Fluorescence Imaging (AFI) Technical Support Officer +61 3 903 57749 paul.brannon@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.19
Dan Smith Nanofabrication (MCN) Technical Support Officer +61 3 990 24377 dan.smith@unimelb.edu.au MCN
Dr Andrew Mitchell Mass Cytometry (CyTOF) Academic Specialist +61 3 834 46850 andrew.mitchell1@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.19
Dr Tian Zheng Nanomaterials Characterisation (NMC) Technical Support Officer +61 3 903 58587 tian.zheng@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.19
Dr Anders Barlow Helium Ion Microscope (HIM) Academic Specialist, XRD Support +61 3 903 59639 anders.barlow@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 261, G26
         

Location and Hours of Operation

AFI & CyTOF Nodes NMC Node XRD Node HIM Node
Building 165, 1.17 and 1.18 Building 165, 2.17 Building 167, G04 Building 261, G25A
203 Bouverie St
The University of Melbourne, Parkville 3010 The University of Melbourne, Parkville 3010 The University of Melbourne, Parkville 3010 The University of Melbourne, Parkville 3010

Monday - Friday, 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Links and Resources 

For more information about MCFP please see our website here.

Contacts

Name Role Phone Email Location
Elena Taran
Platform Manager
 

 
elena.taran@unimelb.edu.au
 

 

Map