Materials Characterisation & Fabrication Platform

 

MCFP Logo

Important information:

Please be advised that the MCFP will close down and all equipment will be switched off from 3pm, Tuesday 24th of March 2020 until further notice.

If you have any questions please contact Lauren Hyde lauren.hyde@unimelb.edu.au (Platform Manager).

Welcome to the Materials Characterisation & Fabrication Platform

The Materials Characterisation and Fabrication Platform (MCFP) supports materials science and engineering research through advanced instrumentation, analysis and characterisation. The platform facilitates access to a range of complementary technologies, focusing on:

  • Atomic Force Microscopy
  • Super-Resolution Microscopy
  • Mass Cytometry
  • Particle Characterisation
  • Nanofabrication
  • X-Ray Diffraction
  • Helium Ion Microscopy
The MCFP welcomes all users across the scientific community, from universities and research institutes to industry.

Leadership

Lauren Hyde MCFP Platform Manager +61 3 834 40176 lauren.hyde@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 3.17

Core Staff

Paul Brannon Advanced Fluorescence Imaging (AFI) Technical Support Officer +61 3 903 57749 paul.brannon@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.19
Dan Smith Nanofabrication (MCN) Technical Support Officer +61 3 990 24377 dan.smith@unimelb.edu.au MCN
Liz Goodall X-Ray Diffraction (XRD) Technical Support Officer +61 3 903 56682 liz.goodall@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, G.05
Dr Andrew Mitchell Mass Cytometry (CyTOF) Academic Specialist +61 3 834 46850 andrew.mitchell1@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.19
Dr Tian Zheng Nanomaterials Characterisation (NMC) Technical Support Officer +61 3 903 58587 tian.zheng@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.19
Dr Anders Barlow Helium Ion Microscope (HIM) Academic Specialist +61 3 903 59639 anders.barlow@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 261, G26

Location and Hours of Operation

AFI & CyTOF Nodes NMC Node XRD Node HIM Node
Building 165, 1.17 and 1.18 Building 165, 2.17 Building 167, G04 Building 261, G25A
203 Bouverie St
The University of Melbourne, Parkville 3010 The University of Melbourne, Parkville 3010 The University of Melbourne, Parkville 3010 The University of Melbourne, Parkville 3010

Monday - Friday, 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Links and Resources 

For more information about MCFP please see our website here.

Map