Electrical, Mechanical and Infrastructure Engineering

Overview of Services

Welcome to the Infrastructure Engineering iLab platform. Infrastructure Engineering runs 6 laboratories: Structural, Concrete, Vasey, Geotech, Wet Lab and Sexton Ecohydraulics labs which support a variety of research and testing. An extensive range of advanced instrumentation is available with expert assistance provided by our professional team.

In the EEE (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) Fabrication laboratory, we have capabilities on wide ranges of thin-film depositions via both physical vapour depositions (thermal and e-beam) and chemical vapour depositions (ALD) in our PV labs, and laser and PCB fabrications.   

 

Leadership for Infrastructure Engineering Laboratories

Dr. Rackel San Nicolas

Dr. Mark Betar

Leadership for EEE Fabrication laboratory:

Dr. James Bullock

Location and hours of operation

Infrastructure Engineering Lab Location and hours of operation

Structural Lab

Concrete Lab

Vasey Lab

Geotech Lab

Geopolymer Lab

Wet Lab

Sexton Ecohydraulics Lab

B.01 / Building 176 Block D (9am - 5pm)

B.04 / Building 176 Block D (9am - 5pm)

G08 / Building 176 Block D (9am - 5pm)

BG01 / Building 175 Block B (9am - 5pm)

BG01 / Building 175 Block B (9am - 5pm)

BM01 / Building 176 Block D (9am - 5pm)

C324 / Building 174 Block C (9am - 5pm)

EEE Fabrication laboratory:

Lab Location and hours of operation

PV lab.                                     

Rm. 115 B and C / Building 166 Old Metallurgy (9am - 5pm)

Links and Resources

  1. [Department of Infrastructure Engineering Homepage]

EEE Fabrication laboratory:

  1. [Laboratory Resources and Safety wiki for the EEE fabrication laboratory] (Access required)

Contacts

Name Role Phone Email Location
Andrew Western
Head of Infrastructure Engineering Department
 
61 3 8344 7305
 
a.western@unimelb.edu.au
 

 
Guillermo Narsilio
Deputy Head of Infrastructure Engineering Department
 
61 3 8344 4659
 
narsilio@unimelb.edu.au
 
Level 2, Building 175, Block B 208
 
Rackel San Nicolas
Francis Lab Manager
 
61 3 9035 3263
 
rackel.san@unimelb.edu.au
 
D418, Building 176, Block D, Parkville
 
Jinghan Lu
Francis Lab Engineer
 
61 434617091
 
jinghanl@unimelb.edu.au
 
Level 1, Building 175, Block B 103
 
Mahdi Miri Disfani
Geotech Lab Manager
 
61 3 83445972
 
mahdi.miri@unimelb.edu.au
 
Level 2, Building 175, Block B 207
 
Justin Macklin
Geotech Lab Research Assistant
 
61 432624522
 
justin.macklin@unimelb.edu.au
 
Level 1, Building 176, Block D 159.01
 
Michael Stewardson
Sexton Lab Manager
 
61 407809106
 
mjstew@unimelb.edu.au
 
333 Exhibition St 353.13
 
Rodger Young
Sexton Lab Environmental Monitoring/ Vasey Lab Water Group
 
61 3 83447018
 
riy@unimelb.edu.au
 
Engineering Block D DG12
 
David Chan
Lab Manager (Teaching)
 
61 3 83443361
 
kaic@unimelb.edu.au
 
Engineering Workshops 104
 
Steve Adams
SENIOR LABORATORY TECHNICIAN (WET LAB)
 
61 3 83446227
 
scadams@unimelb.edu.au
 
Old Engineering School G49
 
James Bullock
Head of EEE PV labs
 
61 3 90357925
 
james.bullock@unimelb.edu.au
 
Level 5, Building 193 (Electrical & Electronic Engineering )
 
Ray Furmston
Wet Lab Technical Officer
 
61 3 8344 6665
 
ray.furmston@unimelb.edu.au
 
Level 1, Building 176, Block D 159.02
 
Angus Webb
Sexton Lab Manager
 
61 3 83449347
 
angus.webb@unimelb.edu.au
 
Level 4, Building 176, Block D, 405
 
Dongryeol Ryu
Vasey Lab Manager
 
61 3 83447115
 
dryu@unimelb.edu.au
 
Melbourne Connect -700 Swanston St 6321
 
Laura Jukes
Geopolymer Lab Research Assistant
 
61 3 83449572
 
laura.jukes@unimelb.edu.au
 
Ground, Building 167, Chemical Engineering 2, G02.03
 
Eric Schoof
Senior Research Associate in Mechatronic Design
 
61 3 83443853
 
eschoof@unimelb.edu.au